The True Meaning of Mañana

Mañana literally translates as tomorrow, or morning, depending on the context. But in South America, it can also mean something else…

The day I was ready to leave Chiclayo on an overnight bus, I found an acceptable netbook at a shop, and decided to buy it. The only problem was, they didn’t have it in stock. I indicated I wanted to purchase it, and a worker called someone on his cell (presumably a supplier) and then hung up and told me they would have it “mañana.” So, instead of leaving that night, I decided to delay my departure by 24 hours.

The next day I returned in the afternoon to the shop, and inquired about the netbook again. They said they didn’t have it in stock, and the exact same scenario repeated: someone placed a phone call, hung up, then told me “mañana.” Seeing as how mañana would have been a Sunday, I had my doubts. I decided to go ahead and leave Chiclayo that night. Who knows, if I had stayed longer, they might have kept telling me mañana for the next 10 days. Not playing that game.

With the extra downtime, I was able to find a really good restaurant, and kept going back for more meals. Here’s some food pics from my last couple days waiting around in Chiclayo:

papipollo con ensalada
papipollo con ensalada – shredded chicken with fries and a small salad
yuca y lomo saltado
yuca y lomo saltado – yucca is one of my favorite foods in South America
chicken and some kind of mashed potato like dish on the left; papa relleña (stuffed potato) on the right
chicken and some kind of mashed potato-like dish on the left; papa rellena (stuffed potato) on the right
Leave a Reply

