too much ginger, too much soy

A three-hour bus ride south from Piura deposited me in Chiclayo at dinner time. I saw some food vendors on the sidewalk across the street from the bus station and hastily made my way over. I stopped at a Chifa vendor. Some guy standing around proudly said it was a combination of Chinese and Peruvian foods. Way back when, immigrants from China came over to Peru and were forced to replace traditional Chinese ingredients with those of Peruvian origin. Chifa is now a very popular cuisine in Peru.

Chifa
my first ever plate of Chifa

It looks like Chinese to me, and I go ahead and order a plate. It had rice, noodles, vegetables, and chicken. Everything was drenched in what tasted like soy sauce mixed with ginger. Unfortunately, I never acquired a taste for ginger, and prefer only moderate amounts of soy sauce. I was only able to eat less than half of the dish before throwing the rest in the trash.

Leave a comment